My team and I tested 70+ cheap VPNs and found several great options with prices averaging under $3/month. Whether you want to protect your data, bypass geoblocks, or enjoy lag-free streaming, these budget-friendly VPNs will do all that without breaking the bank. We found a clear winner; CyberGhost is my #1 recommended cheap VPN. It has optimized streaming, downloading, and gaming servers, an easy-to-use app, and top security features. At just $2.11/month for CyberGhost’s long-term plan, it really is a steal. To make this deal better, CyberGhost also comes with a generous 45-day money-back guarantee. Try CyberGhost Today »

Best Cheap VPN Services — Full Analysis (Updated in March 2023)

1. CyberGhost — A Secure, Cheap VPN That’s Easy to Use for Any Online Activity

CyberGhost has specialty servers for specific activities, my favorite of these are the streaming servers. These servers are labeled based on which streaming platform they work best with and are continuously maintained for reliable access and good speeds. I tested servers in the US for Netflix and HBO Max, and in the UK for Prime Video and Disney+. No matter which platform I tested it with, I was streaming within seconds. It has dedicated gaming and torrenting servers, too. Its gaming connections are designed to deliver fast speeds and low ping, while its torrenting servers let you download torrents safely and quickly. It’s just a bummer the gaming servers are only available with CyberGhost’s Windows app. Although it’s budget-friendly, it keeps your speeds fast by using industry-leading protocols, like WireGuard. From a base speed of 118.76 Mbps, I tested servers in the UK, France, and Germany and got an average of 106.61 Mbps. That was easily enough for me to stream Netflix in Ultra HD without buffering (UHD requires 25 Mbps). To get CyberGhost for the lowest price, make sure you get a long-term plan for $2.11/month. It’s no different from the short-term plans, which can cost up to 84% more and come with a shorter money-back guarantee period (14 days vs 45 days). All plans give you 7 simultaneous device connections. You can try CyberGhost totally risk-free with its money-back guarantee. If you’re not impressed, claiming a full refund is straightforward. I tested this myself by contacting 24/7 live chat and asking for my money back. My refund was approved after a brief convo, and my money landed back in my account 3 days later.

Useful Features

NoSpy servers. These servers add another layer of privacy to your connection — they’re privately owned and maintained by CyberGhost to eliminate the risk of third-party interference. Easy to use. In addition to the spcialty servers, CyberGhost’s apps are designed to be easy to use. They’re also available for the most popular operating systems and devices, so it takes just a few minutes to install. Blocks malware. Included with this cheap VPN is Block Content, which prevents malicious sites and links from compromising your device.

Try CyberGhost Risk-Free »

2. Private Internet Access — Fine-Tune Your Online Activites on an Unlimited Number of Devices

For how affordable it is, it’s impressive that PIA doesn’t limit how many devices you can connect at once. That, plus it comes equipped with a broad range of customizable features. For example, I used 128-bit encryption for better speeds and picture quality while streaming. For activities involving my sensitive data (like banking), I switch to 256-bit — it’s stronger encryption but a bit slower. In addition, there are 2 kill switch settings to choose from. By enabling its Advanced Kill Switch, you can continue to prevent leaks even when the VPN is not connected. The fact the VPN software is open-source also shows PIA’s commitment to transparency and keeping your online movements private. While it doesn’t have servers in as many countries as CyberGhost, it’s one of the only VPNs that offers servers in every US state. You also get streaming-optimized servers in 8 countries, (like the US, UK, and Australia). Its US East streaming optimized server let me access Netflix US, Disney+, Hulu, and more. You can also take advantage of its 30-day money-back guarantee and test all PIA’s features risk-free. I asked them to cancel my subscription over 24/7 live chat to see if this was legit. After answering a question about my experience, they approved my request, and I got all my money back after 4 business days.

Useful Features

Solid torrenting VPN. Its port forwarding feature let’s you directly connect with seeders and get faster download speeds. Plus, it offers MACE, which blocks malware and ads while you torrent (or browse online). Connection automation. Create your own rules for when the VPN automatically kicks in to protect you. Bind it to specific networks, or general network types. Decent speeds. When I tested its US West and Seattle servers, I found an average of 108.23 Mbps. You can get a further speed boost by using Split Tunnel to allow certain apps, or specific URLs, to bypass the VPN.

Try PIA Risk-Free »

3. NordVPN — Threat Protection Blocks Ads, Malware, and Trackers for a Budget-Friendly Price

Despite its affordable price, NordVPN’s Threat Protection feature blows other VPN ad/malware/tracker blockers out of the water. It prevented all of the annoying ads I usually encounter when visiting allrecipes.com. Most ad blockers I’ve used are less effective and still let a couple of popups slip through. I also like that it keeps a list of all the threats it blocks and it worked even when the VPN isn’t connected. It has its own proprietary protocol, called Nordlynx, which is built for speed and security. It’s based on WireGuard, but with extra security. In my tests, NordLynx was 6% faster than OpenVPN. I got 105.77 Mbps from a base of 120.94 from a London server. The Standard plan comes well-equipped at a low cost of $3.29/month. It includes 6 simultaneous devices and all of NordVPN’s most advanced security and privacy features. The biggest downside is that these cheap prices only apply for first-time subscribers — upon renewal, you end up paying about double. You can try NordVPN risk-free with a 30-day money-back guarantee. If you find it’s not for you, it’s simple to claim a refund. I had to go through a chatbot before speaking to an agent, but once connected, my refund was quickly approved. My money was returned after 3 days.

Useful Features

Customize profiles. Its Presets feature (currently for macOS only) lets you create profiles for specific activities. For instance, I created a “US Netflix” Preset with NordLynx and it’s Miami server. Meshnet. This features lets you establish secure connections between multiple devices. It’s especially helpful for safe file sharing and work collaborations. Reliable unblocking. NordVPN let me access every platform I tested, besides Prime Video. But I found a workaround by using Meshnet to connect to a US colleagues network to access the site.

Try NordVPN Risk-Free »

4. Surfshark — Impressive Speeds, Great for Large Households

Surfshark is the fastest budget VPN we tested. I tested servers in the UK, France, and Germany, and my speeds never dropped lower than 116 Mbps, less than 8% below my base. I got similar speeds from Sao Paulo, Brazil (over 6,000 miles away). Connection times were a little sluggish, though — even local servers took up to 20 seconds to connect. Once established, Surfshark’s speeds made up for it. The fast speeds get put to good use with its reliable unblocking abilities. It gave me access to all 6 Netflix libraries I tested; the only platform I struggled with was Prime Video. After trying a few locations, New York worked, so I “favorited” it for easy access in the future. Speeds weren’t greatly affected when connecting more than 8 devices at once tot he same server. Surfshark is a good option for multiple users since it gives you unlimited connections. That ensures you’ll never have to log out of the app on any of your devices, and you can do as much torrenting, gaming, streaming, and browsing as you like. All Surfshark’s plans come with a 30-day money-back guarantee. The cheapest option is to go long-term, you can get a subscription for as little as $2.30/month. This is 82% cheaper than the month-to-month plan.

Useful Features

Static IP servers. This gives you the same IP address every time you connect to the server. It’s handy for avoiding security checks (like CAPTCHAs) when logging into safe sites while using your VPN. CleanWeb. This feature is built-in and blocks malware, ads, and trackers. NoBorders Mode. If you encounter tough firewalls, NoBorders detects it and presents you a list of servers best equipped to bypass the restrictions.

Try Surfshark Risk-Free »

5. IPVanish — Self-Owned Network Gives You Airtight Privacy on the Cheap

IPVanish privately owns every one of its 2,200 servers in 75 countries, to ensure your data is safe. Even some expensive VPNs rent servers and share facilities with other organizations, introducing the risk of third-party tampering. Its unlimited connections cover your devices with one affordable subscription. I tested it on 2 iPhones, an iPad, and a macOS. They were all connected to its Valencia server, playing different YouTube videos. Every connection remained stable, meaning no more battles over the VPN. With its fast speeds and solid unblocking abilities, IPVanish is a solid choice for streaming. Even with its affordable price, it gave me access to my favorite streaming sites like Netflix US, Hulu, and Disney+. IPVanish has a range of plans. Longer subscriptions offer the best value, and prices start from $2.49/month. It’s not the cheapest on my list, but the price doesn’t increase when you renew your subscription (like with some VPNs). You can give IPVanish a risk-free trial with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Unlike other VPNs, you don’t need to speak to an agent to get a refund. Just log into your account on the IPVanish website and click “I wish to cancel my subscription”. When I tested it, I got a full refund within 3 days.

Useful Features

Large selection of protocols. IPvanish offers 6 different protocols, including the speed-optimized WireGuard and the highly-secure OpenVPN. Security essentials. It comes with everything you need for a secure connection, including 256-bit encryption, an automatic kill switch, and DNS/IP leak protection. P2P-friendly. Its entire server network supports torrenting and it provides a SOCK5 proxy connection for speedier downloads.

Try IPVanish Risk-Free »

6. PrivateVPN — A Simple, User-Friendly Budget VPN

PrivateVPN is the most user-friendly budget VPN I tested. During my tests, connecting to the US was straightforward. I hit “change” next to the server location and clicked New York — that’s it. I also like that all of its settings can be toggled with one click. That’s not to say it doesn’t offer quality features. For instance, under Advanced View, its Stealth VPN obfuscates your data to disguise it as regular internet traffic. That makes PrivateVPN one of the few cheap VPNs that work reliably in China. PrivateVPN gives you 75+ specialty servers for streaming and downloading. They’re labeled “Dedicated IP” since they’re dedicated to giving you fast speeds. Its London dedicated IP gave me 110.21 Mbps from a base of 118.25, around 9% faster than a regular London server. Considering its small network, I had concerns about crowding and speed loss. However, despite being a low-cost service, PrivateVPN runs what it calls a High Quality Network. By buying network capacity directly from the IP provider, it keeps speeds fast and connections stable. Its long-term plan is cheapest — subscriptions start at $2/month. The short-term plans offer the same features, but cost much more per month. You get 10 device connections with every plan, but bear in mind that with the 36-month plan, prices increase upon renewal. You can test PrivateVPN for 30 days as it’s backed by a money-back guarantee. If you find it’s not the right VPN for you, you can easily claim a refund. I did this by sending a message on the website. I got a reply within 2 minutes; it was quick and easy. Try PrivateVPN Risk-Free »

7. Proton VPN — Secure Core Offers Strong Privacy Protection On a Budget

Secure Core (MultiHop) routes your data through protected servers in privacy-friendly countries. While testing this, I connected to the US via Switzerland. I was surprised my speeds dropped just 12% below my base, as multi-hop usually causes serious slowdowns. I found an easy way to get a speed boost with VPN Accelerator. I used it alongside Quick Connect and got a 10% increase in speed. When I switched protocols (from Stealth to WireGuard), my speeds were 9% below my base. Similar to NordVPN’s Presets, Proton VPN lets you set Profiles for your favorite online activities. You can also designate a Profile as your “Quick Connect”, so it configures your settings with one click. That’s a premium-quality feature from a low-cost VPN. It’s long-term plans are a bit pricier than the other listed VPNs, starting at $4.99/month. Although, Proton VPN makes up with this by offering one of the cheapest monthly plans I’ve seen at $9.99/month. Both of these plans offer up to 10 device connections. You can try Proton VPN’s features for 30 days with its money-back guarantee. Unlike other VPNs, it only refunds the unused portion of your plan. So, since I went for a monthly contract and asked for a refund after 15 days, I got 50% of my money back. Try Proton VPN Today »

8. hide.me — Protect Your Online Activities With Stealth Guard

Stealth Guard lets you customize when hide.me kicks in to prevent accidental data leaks. You can either “Bind Internet to VPN”, which makes your entire network only work with hide.me on. Or, you can “Limit Apps to VPN” to route specific apps through the VPN while the rest of your traffic stays on your local connection. On the other hand, split tunneling allows selected apps to bypass the VPN. By assigning Spotify and iPlayer Downloads to bypass the VPN, I could still access local content, but with better speeds. It can be fast, but isn’t always consistent. First, I got 73.67 Mbps while connected to Japan — but later, the same server gave me just 19.47 Mbps. Other locations were more stable; Canadian servers only fluctuated between 75.94 to 81.23 Mbps. A variety of plans are available, but I recommend going long-term. When I subscribed, I saved 60% over a short-term plan. Subscriptions are available for as little as $3.99/month. Its 30-day money-back guarantee is trustworthy. You can claim a refund by contacting customer support, but doesn’t offer live chat. I sent my request via the inquiry form and got my money back 5 days later. Try hide.me Risk-Free »

9. TunnelBear — A Fun App for Simple Online Privacy Protection

TunnelBear gives you a quirky bear-themed app to make privacy protection kinda fun. Choose your location from the world map display, click connect, and a cartoon bear tunnels its way to your chosen location. For a cheap VPN, it looks slick and well-branded. It has decent speeds worldwide. I tested the Australia server over several weeks. My speeds ranged from 37.06 Mbps to 51.82 Mbps. That’s not bad for a server that’s 9,000 miles away, especially considering this is a low-cost VPN. Local servers were more impressive; I got 109.81 Mbps from France. You can get signed up to TunnelBear for $3.33/month. You also get unlimited device connections. All sales are final — there’s no money-back guarantee, which is pretty disappointing. At least it provides a limited free plan that gives you 2GB of data/month, which is enough to test it out for a short time. Try TunnelBear Risk-Free »

Quick Comparison Table: Cheap VPN Features

Tips on Choosing the Best Cheap VPN for You

I used the following criteria when deciding the best cheap VPNs. Feel free to use it as a checklist to help you choose your ideal cheap VPN. Try CyberGhost Risk-Free »

What’s the fastest cheap VPN?

The VPNs on my list all provide fast speeds, but the fastest is Surfshark. It has 3,200 servers in 100 countries, and no matter how far the server, it always gave me an impressively fast connection. You can also check the user load of each location to easily find the fastest.

Can I use a cheap VPN for Netflix?

Yes. All the VPNs on my list work with Netflix US as well as several other popular platforms. From these, the best cheap VPN for Netflix is CyberGhost. It has 25+ specialty servers for Netflix, including some optimized for Firestick and Android TV. Plus, they’re continuously maintained to ensure they’re not blocked and are running smoothly. That said, some cheap VNPs have small server networks and slow speeds that won’t support Ultra HD streaming. Others can’t bypass Netflix’s tough geoblocks. Therefore, it’s crucial to choose a VPN that’s been tried and tested with Netflix.

What’s the best cheap VPN for gaming?

All the VPNs on my list support gaming, but the best is CyberGhost. It has specialty gaming servers optimized for fast speeds and low ping (available on PC and Android). I used a location in Paris to play Fortnite, and my ping was below 50 ms the whole time (under 100 ms is recommended for smooth gaming). Plus, it’s top-notch security protects your gaming accounts from hackers and prevents DDoS attacks. And it offers Smart DNS and router support, so there are 2 options for installing the VPN on your games console.

What’s the best cheap VPN for torrenting?

Any of the VPNs in this list are good options for torrenting, but I liked CyberGhost the best. CyberGhost has P2P-optimized servers in over 75 countries, allowing you to download torrent files quickly and safely. You can also enable “Block content” to protect against the malicious content and ads that can be prevalent on popular torrenting sites. Additionally, all the VPNs listed hide your IP address and use military-grade encryption to prevent your ISP from seeing your torrenting activity and throttling your connection.

Are there cheap VPNs that bill monthly?

Yes, but signing up month-to-month will always cost more than going long-term. When signing up for a VPN, I recommend comparing prices — usually you’ll see that the longest plan available will save you the most money. Of the listed VPNs listed, the cheapest monthly plan is PrivateVPN, at about $10/month, but this is still more than double what you’d pay if you commit to a long-term plan and it’s the same with most VPNs. That’s because VPN providers usually offer discounts when you commit to a long-term plan.

Is it worth getting a cheap VPN for Firestick?

Yes, it will allow you to access tons of geoblocked content on your Firestick. All the VPNs on my list offer native apps for Fire devices. Once you have a subscription, you can download the app directly to your Firestick or Fire TV. Then you’ll have all the functionality and privacy of a VPN on your smart TV or projector screen — and you can access global libraries on Disney+, Netflix, and Prime Video.

Which cheap VPN has servers in India?

Most of the cheap VPNs on my list have locations in India. I got the fastest speeds from CyberGhost’s location in Mumbai. At 54.29 Mbps, it was a fraction faster than Private Internet Access’ Indian location.

Why are VPNs expensive, and how can I get one cheaper?

They seem expensive at first glance, since you usually have to pay for 1-3 years upfront to get the best deal. Although, when you break it down monthly, they’re often no more than a single cup of coffee from your local coffe shop per month. There are some great VPNs available for less than $3/month. And what you get for this is well worth the cost. They help you unblock geo-restricted sites and protect your data just as well as many more expensive VPNs. Either way, if you don’t like the added monthly expense, here are a few tips to get more value from your subscription:

Use a coupon or a discount. Many VPNs have regular discounts and cheap deals which anyone can use. Check out our deals and coupons page for the most recent offers. Use a money-back guarantee. The VPNs on my list all offer money-back guarantees. You can easily claim your money back if you’re not completely satisfied. Once you find the right VPN for you, you can stay subscribed. Subscribe to a long-term plan. As with most subscription-based services, longer plans are cheaper overall than short-term ones. For example, you can save 84% if you go for a long-term plan with CyberGhost.

Are cheap VPNs safe and reliable?

Not always — it depends on the service. All the VPNs on this list are safe and reliable — some have been in business for 10+ years and perform extensive audits to ensure your privacy is well protected. Although, some cheap VPNs can put your privacy at risk with weak security or by leaking your identifying information. So, it’s essential to choose a cheap VPN provider that’s been thoroughly tested and investigated.

What’s better, a free or cheap VPN?

A cheap VPN is a better option because it doesn’t restrict you the way free VPNs do. You get fast speeds, strong security, unlimited data, and a global server network with a good cheap VPN. On the other hand, free VPNs are severely restricted. They usually have slow speeds and limited data, so you can’t use them for high-bandwidth activities, like streaming and torrenting. Plus, they often fail to unblock streaming platforms due to their very limited server networks (usually you only have access to around 5 server locations). Even worse, free VPNs often have weak security and can leak identifying information. Some even sell your data to third parties to make money. You’re better off with an affordable VPN that has the funds and resources to protect you properly. Try CyberGhost Today »

Get a Cheap VPN Today

With so many VPNs available at all prices, finding a reliable low-cost option is challenging. That’s not to say that price is always equivalent to quality. My team and I found plenty of safe, fast, and reliable VPNs that won’t leave a hole in your wallet. From the dozens of VPNs we tested, CyberGhost provides the best quality and value, with prices starting at $2.11/month. It’s optimized for various activities, like streaming, gaming, and downloading. Plus, its first-rate security features will keep you protected. You can also try CyberGhost for 45 days since it has a money-back guarantee. If you’re not 100% happy, you’ll have no problem getting a refund.

To summarize, the best cheap VPNs in 2023 are…

The information above can be used to track you, target you for ads, and monitor what you do online.

         VPNs can help you hide this information from websites so that you are protected at all times. We recommend ExpressVPN — the #1 VPN out of over 350 providers we've tested. It has military-grade encryption and privacy features that will ensure your digital security, plus — it's currently offering 49% off.        
          Visit ExpressVPN         

9 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 999 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 39 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 439 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 119 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 749 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 159 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 649 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 679 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 19 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 819 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 879 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 749 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 19 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 529 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 589 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 689 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 129 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 279 Best Cheap VPN Services in 2023  Top Security on a Budget - 42